Could Have Been

I could become a doctor: I have all the scores, the work ethic, the talent. Sure, organic chemistry would have kicked my ass, but I could have done it. I wouldn’t have been the best, but I could have started my way to become an oncologist or psychiatrist.

I would have been able to opt out of all of the general academic courses because of my AP credit.

But instead, here I sit, pretending that I make things that make you feel something.

I could have become a doctor, I still could if I wanted to badly enough.

I could have become a certified person to help you, instead of a seven dollar film ticket to help you emotionally.

But instead, I tried to follow my heart rather my head.

Leave a Reply

