Addressed to Galway

 

To my Galway boy,
how I would love to write you poetry,
but the need has not yet risen.
I’m sorry for the loss, if the loss is what you’re feeling.

 

What do they call you from Galway town?
What is it you’re escaping from?

 

Fate, deceit, broken-hearted
You must have left behind something.

 

My boy from Galway town, so pretty.
Proud and tall, just like the songs you sung.
How has your island served you wrong?

 

My Galway man, my Irish dear,
Blue eyes so fair and strong.
Looking at you creates forever, but know my forever won’t be long.

 

Ask me not for words
ask me not for verse.
Forgive me please, my wordless heart.

 

What do they call you from Galway town?
I confess I’ve never been.
Take me along your troubles –
introduce me somewhere to begin.

Leave a Reply

