A spare bit of time

May you leave my mind for just
a spare bit of time?
Enough to catch my breath.
Enough time to figure myself out.

I may not have you.
The ocean has made that clear.
The exhaust in my mind has made that clear.
The first silence from you has made that clear.

Time should be easy to give,
you have six more than me and so I
wonder if I was born to live always
behind in another time. Chasing you
with my hours but with you always
ahead by a margin of one plus five.

It is no wonder I live in a haze,
think of you always.
But I’m sure you don’t feel the same
way.

But while I’m at it.

I hope you correct me from this
error and say that we may start
together despite the lagging and
transferring of time.

I hope you correct me from this
error and say that we may begin
anew together despite the differences
in terrain.

But hope for the best, demand work
for the worse.
I’m already digging my grave,
six feet down from my worth.

Leave a Reply

