From Ink Grew Iron Song

I think back to this time last year,
rewind time to a time where postal codes
were closer together than farther apart,
able to press heart against heart.

So this is how far we’ve come.
Better, for worse, one cannot tell,
but while the seconds tick upwards
and the winds whistle summer into air,
the love of my heart for yours has remained the same –

or something similar,
because I like you more now
then I did back then.

When did evolving time
become such a reward?
To witness you grow, to become more sure

of what you wish to conquer from this world,
to pose resolutions of problems that refuse to
become old.

I don’t love you as I loved you back then.
That much is safe in my safe which only I hold key.

From ink grew iron strong to take over their place,
causing me to spend minutes stealing pictures of your face.

I don’t love you as I loved you back then.
I love you more, in so many different ways.

One thought on “From Ink Grew Iron Song”

Leave a Reply

