My Mother’s Excuses

(My Mother’s Excuses, or, To Whom I Despise)

‘He only acts this way when you’re here.’
Well, thank you for once again showing me my place.

Happy to be of service, no added extra charge
for twenty years have I given others their dishonourable charge.

I alone, with powers supreme, able
to turn a person into their evil deeds.

Thank you, really.
This was my plan all along – to have finally
learnt that hard work and effort pays off.
Now I know my job is close to done.

Whether I wanted this gift so divine,
is something not asked, something not looked
upon. But whatever that means, for I cannot tell,
I have words, but few to depart, small in number, but all
meant within my heart:

Before I leave, forever and always,
my last words upon thee are these next written:
If I had a chance to woo you with words,
I’d slice you and beat you to create conspicuous, unhealable wounds.

Blood spilling before thee
with a clean hand in place,
forever and always, you’d think
twice before acting with such lack of grace.

Violence is but easy,
I know enough to admit
but that never stopped you, caused
you enough change to recommit

to what you promised, all
you said to all involved.

Violence is easy, but what is done
cannot be un. And these are my
words, tainted and bruised with someone’s yet spilled blood.

Leave a Reply

