Unmouthed Wishes

Have I wished you good night tonight?
Because I wish I had the words beside your name.

Thoughts hidden by time and concoction,
the melody too soon put on to tell the song
that plays.

To say your name, to think aloud, behind your back
afraid to show face just yet,
the song too soon to tell.

The needle will end, the notes
shall die down to the fibres of the floor,
and yet still I wish it to continue –
though I know what will face us
when the music crashes down.

I wish tonight beside your name.
Whispered in thought, body and mind.
But still the words stall from mind to more –
stuck in line, unwilled to move.

Leave a Reply

