24 November (WIP)

Lie with me for an hour more –
lay me down with a night for us to sleep.
My day has been hard, your day has been long.
Basic desire is to end the
light in your arms.

Surrendering this day
with an embrace within your form.

Jesus Christ today was long.

The night draws near, the light has
been conquered yet we’re hours
apart and your face is set in silence.

Speak to me when you think my name,
Touch me when you say my name.
Surrender to the night when the lights
ease down.

And with me will you try to be a man
considerate and respectful to all things?
With yourself, be kind and forgive, and
to the rest of us beyond your light
brown eyes,
try to treat us with compassion
and be willing to be wise to us
mortal souls still yet with undecided
minds.

But at the night when the day
is long and worn, leave thoughts
of all the others at our door.
Take to me and ever belong,
a team together safe in our home.

Leave a Reply

