The Underworld

They can take your body
but not your soul.
It’s only your body,
and not your soul –
but I fell in love with
that body that houses
an even greater soul.

Does that make me
selfish? I don’t care
to know. The first
time I saw you that
a-long-time ago how was
I supposed to know what
kind, great man you were?

Take me instead, take me
instead, just let them
leave my eyes and hands
and I’ll have enough to
live again.

Before they take me ears,
my dear, allow me to hear
your voice one last time….

Does that make me selfish?
I don’t care to know.
The first-time I saw you
I knew that I didn’t
want you to go.

Brown eyes matched
mine.
Who’d have though
that such a star from
a Northern boy could capture
the heart of mine on a
Saturday night without
words until the end.

This isn’t new,
I’ve felt and fallen with
love before but never
until now have I loved you.

Leave a Reply

